Purpose and focus of SIAMS inspections
SIAMS inspection focuses on the impact of the Church school's Christian vision on pupils and adults. This involves looking at the school’s Christian vision, the provision the school makes because of this vision and how effective this provision is in enabling all pupils to flourish. Church schools will employ a variety of strategies and styles appropriate to, and reflective of, their particular context in order to be distinctively and effectively Christian in their character and ethos. SIAMS inspectors therefore do not look for a set template of what a Church school should be like, but rather take the particular context of the school into account and base their evaluation on the outcomes rather than the process. The Evaluation Schedule has one inspection question: how effective is the school’s distinctive Christian vision, established and promoted by leadership at all levels, in enabling pupils and adults to flourish? This is explored through seven strands: Vision and Leadership Wisdom, Knowledge and Skills Character Development: Hope, Aspiration and Courageous Advocacy Community and Living Well Together Dignity and Respect The impact of collective worship The effectiveness of religious education One overall grade is awarded reflecting the contribution of these strands to the flourishing of pupils and adults in a Church school. In addition a standalone grade is awarded in all schools for collective worship and in voluntary aided (VA) schools and former VA schools for religious education (RE). This grade is based on teaching and learning alone.
Summary Of The New Ofsted Framework: Contents

We know how busy it can be when working in a primary school, so to speed up your read, we’ve broken the blog down by sections, each of them clickable, so find the piece you are most interested in and get reading!

• Headline changes to the new 2019 Ofsted inspection framework

• Changes to when an inspection can take place

• An introduction to the judgement categories

• New judgement category 1 – Quality of education

• New judgement category 2 – Behaviour and attitudes

• New judgement category 3 – Personal development

• New judgement category 4 – Leadership and management

• A new focus on reducing teaching workload

• The change to how Ofsted wish to be perceived

• Inspections now focusing with greater specificity on distinct phases (EYFS, Sixth form and specialist providers)

• Next steps after the announcement

• A free 2-page downloadable breakdown of the framework to hand out to SLT and Governors


5 headline changes to the New Ofsted Inspection Framework:
  1. Inspection timings have changed but the initial suggestion that Ofsted could arrive within 2.5 hours has been removed;
  2. There’s no getting away from the Ofsted grades; they stay the same: outstanding, good, requires improvement or inadequate;
  3. The judgement categories have been completed revised and will now cover: Quality of Education (this is a big one!), Behaviour and Attitudes, Personal Development, Leadership and Management;
  4. Some key themes emerge (none of which will be a surprise for those who read our previous blog based on Amanda Spielman’s October speech: reducing workload for teachers, an emphasis on good character and resilience among pupils, tackling off-rolling, and of course a broad, well-balanced knowledge-rich curriculum;
  5. Despite what some have said, we’re not sure from the revised framework that Ofsted inspectors will be ‘ignoring’ data, merely that they will look to understand the purpose and usefulness of internal pupil data.